Copyright 2022 - Custom text here


1st of April 1974

The area became part of the Metropolitan County of West Midlands which was created by taking in an area from Wolverhampton in the north west, to Coventry in the south east and including Birmingham. The county boroughs of Dudley, Smethwick, Walsall, West Bromwich and Wolverhampton, the municipal boroughs of Bilston, Tipton and Wednesbury and the urban districts of Amblecote, Brierley Hill, Coseley, Darlaston, Sedgley, Tettenhall, Wednesfield and Willenhall were all removed from Staffordshire into the new county.


Copyright 2020 Great Barr Past and Present, Anthony Lewis